Healthy Low Sugar Granola 

When I was food shopping the other day I found myself looking at the labels of some of my favourite granolas. It made me realise that even though a lot of them are advertised as ‘healthy’ or being ‘low in sugar’ they are actually far from it! Sadly, they are usually high is sugar and full of unnecessary additives.

This lead me to decide to have a go at making my own healthier homemade granola. I knew the things I liked in the shop bought options so thought I’d throw them all together and hope it made a delicious breakfast cereal… and it turned out wonderfully!

The ingredients can be swapped and changed to suit your personal preferences or dietary needs, but this is what I used to make my new favourite breakfast!

Ingredients 

  • 2 cups of oats
  • 1/2 cup nuts (I used walnuts and cashews)
  • 1/4 cup seeds (I used sunflower and pumpkin)
  • 2 tablespoons maple syrup (can used honey as an alternative)
  • 2 tablespoons coconut oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • Optional – dried fruit of your choice (I used raw dried golden berries)


Method

  • Pre heat oven to 200 degrees celsius
  • Add all the dry ingredients to a large bowl and mix until they are well combined
  • Then add the maple syrup and coconut oil and mix thoroughly with either your hands or a wooden spoon. I advise melting your coconut oil prior to use so that it is easier to mix – you can either put the jar in some hot water for a few minutes or gently warm it in the microwave
  • Spread the mixture evenly onto a baking tray lined with either baking paper or tinfoil and bake in the oven for 15-20 minutes
  • Once cooked leave to cool then store in an air tight container

Leave a Reply

